The University System of New Hampshire is the largest provider of post secondary education in the Granite State. With more than 31,000 enrolled students and 81,000 alumni living in state, the sister institutions of the University System - the University of New Hampshire, Plymouth State University, Keene State College, and Granite State College - have a direct impact on hundreds of thousands of New Hampshire citizens every year.

In concert with our commitment to teaching, our community outreach and service programs expand knowledge and have a positive impact on the state, and our research efforts add insight and understanding to subjects as varied as air quality, economic development, family health, teacher training, and ocean mapping.


As a public college and university system, our work is conducted on behalf of the people of New Hampshire. Here you'll find information about the University System's Board of Trustees news and events, meetings, and the work of the Chancellor's Office.


Prior to 1963, a "system" of public higher education did not exist in New Hampshire. The State University in Durham was governed by its own Board of Trustees and the two Teachers' Colleges at Plymouth and Keene fell under the jurisdiction of the State Board of Education. The "University System of New Hampshire" grew out of deliberations of the 1963 State Legislature, which acted upon the recommendations of an Interim Commission on Higher Education. Governor Wesley Powell appointed the commission in 1961 and charged them with developing a plan that would enable New Hampshire's institutions of public higher education to better cope with the anticipated explosion in student enrollment. More >>

USNH Chancellors